OUT OF PRINT, NOT OUT OF MIND by Geoff Rodkey

I just found this blog via Geoff Rodkey, author of Deadweather and Sunrise and the sequel – just out- New Lands. Geoff has some oldies but goodies in this guest post and, the Nerdy Book Clubs awards list has current greats too.
Enjoy!

Nerdy Book Club

Hello, Nerds! I’m Geoff Rodkey, author of the comedy-adventure-coming-of-age series The Chronicles of Egg and a big fan of the Book Club. When I got the chance to contribute a post, I was thrilled–and immediately spent the next several days meticulously crafting a 2,000-word essay about how Bridge to Terabithia scarred me for life.
I was convinced I’d written something truly special–poignant, heartfelt, existentially profound–until I showed it to my wife, who helpfully pointed out that it was actually turgid, boring, and painfully self-indulgent.
So I added my 2,000-word Bridge to Terabithia reminiscence to the unfortunately long list of Things That Seemed Like A Good Idea Until I Ran Them By My Wife and decided to take a different tack.
This is still a reminiscence, it’s still about books that meant a lot to me as a kid, and even though nobody dies in an emotionally devastating fashion in any…

View original post 1,251 more words

Leave a Reply

