My Introduction to Cornelia Funke

I love the Inkheart Trilogy! This is a great post. Enjoy!

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

On a recent trip to the library, my daughter informed me that she does not like mystery books (at my suggestion that she try a Nancy Drew book) and that she did not like historical fiction (except for the “Laura” books), but that her new passion was fantasy.  This new love of fantasy stems from recently reading the first three Harry Potter books with her dad.

So, we began hunting through the children’s chapter books for those with the fantasy sticker on the spine.  This is what it looks like.

fantasy sticker library book

We loaded our bag full of several and discovered one particular gem among the stack.  Over the last few weeks, I have been reading to her from Cornelia Funke’s Igraine the Brave (1998), an adventure novel full of fantasy and magic.

Funke is a German author known for her Inkheart trilogy.  While I haven’t read Inkheart, I do…

View original post 538 more words

Leave a Reply

